Skip Navigation
Grey Twitter Icon facebook-icon instagram_icon
canadian_flag

Communities Banner 2016

Le canton de Terrace Bay

Bienvenue au canton de Terrace Bay 



Outre la santé, il fait aussi bon vivre sur le plan culturel. Malgré un plus faible pourcentage (10%) que ses voisins de Marathon et Manitouwadge, le canton de Terrace Bay a en son sein un club de francophones qui organise des activités un peu partout dans la région Supérieur Nord. Le club est l’héritier de l’ouverture de l’usine de pâtes et papiers, moment où plusieurs francophones sont venus s’établir à Terrace Bay, qui explique qu’encore aujourd’hui on y retrouve des gens qui parlent français.

Cette effervescence se traduit d’ailleurs en résultats visibles puisqu’à compter de 2016, le drapeau franco-ontarien flottera en permanence dans cette petite communauté. Le canton reconnaît ainsi l’apport des francophones au développement de la communauté et malgré un exode des francophones après la fermeture de l’usine, on voit que cette dernière est résolue à demeurer une force importante au sein du petit village.

L’école primaire française Franco-Terrace joue un rôle important pour la communauté et permet à plusieurs familles de transmettre leur langue à leurs enfants. Au-delà des murs de l’école, le club francophone prend la relève afin d’assurer que la langue ne soit pas confiner à la petite école, mais soit aussi vivant dans les loisirs et les activités sociales. Terrace Bay accueille également une société d’aide au développement des communautés qui offre ses services en français partout dans la région Supérieur Nord, il s’agit d’un grand plus pour les entrepreneurs et les groupes francophones.

Site Web : www.terracebay.ca


   Home  |  Sitemap  |  Contact Us  |  Feedback
Disclaimer & Copyright Notice. All rights Reserved. Corporation of the City of Thunder Bay ©

Skip Navigation
Grey Twitter Icon facebook-icon instagram_icon
canadian_flag
Terrace Bay We invite you to make this your new home

Township of Terrace Bay

Welcome to the Township of Terrace Bay

Lake Superior's Playground

Besides healthcare, Terrace Bay is also a great place on a cultural level. Despite a lower percentage of Francophones (10%) than its neighbours Marathon and Manitouwadge, the Township of Terrace Bay can count on the presence of a French-speaking social club organizing many activities almost everywhere in the Lake Superior region. The club’s history traces back to when the pulp and paper mill first opened. Back then, many French speakers migrated to Terrace Bay for the employment opportunities, explaining why today we can still hear people speaking the language of Molière in the township.

The effervescent activity in this community is showing tangible results so far. For example, starting in 2016, the Franco-Ontarian flag will be permanently flown in this small community. The Township thus recognizes the contribution of Francophones to the development of the community, and despite an exodus of French speakers after the mill closed, the Township is witnessing the strong will of the Francophones to remain an important part of the fabric of Terrace Bay

The Franco-Terrace Catholic Elementary School also plays an important role in the community and enables many families to pass on their mother tongue to their children. Outside school, the Francophone Club carries the torch to ensure that the French language is not confined to within the school’s walls, but is lively in recreation and social activities. Terrace Bay hosts Superior North Community Futures Development Corporation (CFDC) which offers its services in French throughout the Lake Superior region. It is a well-welcomed resource for French-speaking entrepreneurs, among others.

   Home  |  Sitemap  |  Contact Us  |  Feedback
Disclaimer & Copyright Notice. All rights Reserved. Corporation of the City of Thunder Bay ©