Skip Navigation
Grey Twitter Icon facebook-icon instagram_icon
Living in Northwestern Ontario Collage


Located in the geographic centre of Canada, Northwestern Ontario is part of the larger Northern Ontario region. The communities in Northwestern Ontario are divided between the Eastern Time Zone and the Central Time Zone.

It is bordered on the north by Hudson Bay and James Bay and on the east by Northeastern Ontario. Its southern border is with Lake Superior and the State of Minnesota in the United States. To the west is the Province of Manitoba in Canada.

Northwestern Ontario is located within a one day drive from several Midwest United States including Minnesota and Wisconsin. There are three border entry points in Northwestern Ontario which are: Pigeon River north of Duluth, Fort Frances/International Falls and Rainy River/Baudette.

The region is bordered to the northwest by the Province of Manitoba in Canada and by the State of Minnesota in the United States to the south. Northwestern Ontario is less than a one day drive from many major centres in Canada and the U.S., including Duluth, Minneapolis, Chicago, and Milwaukee.

Driving Times (in hours) from Thunder Bay

Geraldton, ON

3.5 hours

Fort Frances, ON

4 hours

Sioux Lookout, ON

4 hours

Dryden, ON

4 hours

Rainy River, ON

5.5 hours

Wawa, ON

5.5 hours

Kenora, ON

6 hours

Ottawa, ON

20.5 hours

Toronto, ON

18.5 hours

Sault St. Marie, ON

9 hours

Winnipeg, MN

9 hours

Chicago, IL

14 hours

Duluth, M

3.5 hours

Minneapolis, MN

6.5 hours

Milwaukee, WI

12.5 hours

Distance Calculator:

To calculate distances between selected Northwestern Ontario cities and towns, use the Ministry of Transportation Distance Triangle (PDF - 829 KB).

Useful Links:

   Home  |  Sitemap  |  Contact Us  |  Feedback
Disclaimer & Copyright Notice. All rights Reserved. Corporation of the City of Thunder Bay ©